APC emerges as winner in Imo bye-election

APC emerges as winner in Imo bye-election

APC emerges as winner in Imo bye-election

After a by-election in the Ngor Okpala State Constituency in Imo State, Mr Blyden Okanni, a member of the All Progressives Congress, has been proclaimed the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Prof. Dennis Akoh, the INEC’s Returning Officer for the election, made the announcement in Owerri, Nigeria, on Sunday.

Mr Emeka Nwachukwu of the Peoples Democratic Party, who received 7,161 votes, was Okanni’s closest competitor, according to Akoh, who claimed that Okanni received 9,248 votes to beat him.

FUNAI professor Akoh stated Mr Christopher Nwaiwu, the candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) came in third position with 501 votes, placing him third overall in the election in Ebonyi state.

According to him, Mrs Joy Nze, the sole female candidate and candidate of the National Rescue Movement (NRM), received 15 votes out of the 11 candidates that competed in the by-election.

It was reported by the returning officer that 18,083 voters were accredited for the election, out of a total of 94,118 registered voters in the district.

He said that there were 17,280 legal ballots cast in total, with 582 votes being rejected.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.